It’s All Greek To Me!

Standard

So, I admit it. I am in love with Greece! It is on my top list of places I want to visit. I think my Greek obsession started about the same time as my Bellydance obsession, being that it was at a Greek Food Festival when I saw my first bellydancers! Amidst vendors with all kinds of beautiful wares, delicious food and a Greek Orthodox Catholic Church, I had my very first glimpse of my beloved art.

When I was a little girl, my mother would take me with her to an international food market, in Little Rock, where we would buy groceries and eat lunch together. Gyros and mango nectar for me every time! I always got to pick out olives from the jars that were almost as big as I was (the jars, not the olives!) and when we got home she would be busy in the kitchen making a full Greek dinner. She would have me help her and we would spread a sheet out in the living room floor and when my Dad got home from work, all would be ready and we would sit in the living room floor, watch Yanni, Live at the Acropolis and eat our feast. They were probably the happiest dinners I remember as a child.

I love the food and the beauty and everything! It just says peace and happiness to me. I see some Greek food in my very near future (like, tomorrow!), but for now, let’s take a little pictoral stroll through Greece and pretend we’re dancing at the vantage point of each of these photographs. Wouldn’t that be amazing!?

Smiles and shimmies! šŸ™‚ E

Leave a Reply

