Bellydance A La Mode: The Fashions of the Dance “Part 1: The Romantically Vintage Love of Tribal Fusion”

Standard

With my love of Bellydance comes a deep love of the Costuming side of Bellydance. I spend a lot of time not only creating my own costumes, but finding inspiration for them, collecting things that can one day become part of a costume, from vintage buttons to fabric finds at thrift stores to pieces of jewelry I take apart and make into other things. In this blog series which will be running on Mondays, we will be exploring the many facets of the different fashions of Bellydance and some of the people who create them. There won’t really be a rhyme or reason to the subjects, it’s kind of like Bingo, I’ll just pick one and write about it!

We begin this series with one of my personal favorites, the vintage stylings of Tribal Fusion.

Mardi Love
The beautiful Mardi Love looking like a Mucha come to life.

While being a fairly new dance form in the grand scheme of things Tribal Fusion and its dancers embrace a great love of all things old and strange and their costuming is no exception to this rule. Let’s explore some of the favored components of Tribal Fusion costuming.

Now that we’ve seen some of the individual components, let’s take a look at some of the iconic dancers who pioneered the “Romantic Vintage” nature of Tribal Fusion and how they use these components to create a look.

I have to admit, I’m not sure if it’s because of my love for clothes of the 20’s and 30’s or if I just think it’s pretty, but this style of costume tops my list for favorites among costuming. Of course, I love a lot of other styles too!

Are you a dancer or costumer and would like to be featured in Bellydance A La Mode: The Fashions of the Dance? Send me an email at elewis4507@yahoo.com or comment with your style of costuming and a couple of pictures that best show off your unique style! Solo dancers, duets, trios, troupes and everyone else are welcome!

Shimmies and smiles! šŸ™‚

E

Leave a Reply

